2013 Award Winners

Each Quilt National Exhibit awards a number of artists special recognition for their work. Here are the 2013 award winners.

Quilt National ’13 Awards

Best of Show is selected by the jurors as the best overall work in the biennial show. Brooke Atherton Spring Field
Quilts Japan Prize is sponsored by the Nihon Vogue Corporation and granted to an American artist as an expression of gratitude for the teaching and guidance that American quilters have given to Japanese quilters. Elin Noble Fugitive Pieces 11
Award of Excellence recognizes work deemed to be of exceptional design, quality and craft. Paula Kovarik Round and Round It Goes
Most Innovative Use of the Medium sponsored by Friends of Fiber Arts International is awarded to a work which embodies innovative techniques or materials. Shin-hee Chin Florence Nightingale
Young Emerging Artist (YEA) Award is sponsored by Katie and Bobby Masopust in the hopes of encouraging young artists under the age of 30 to participate. No award in 2013.
Persistence Pays Award: Created to honor the memory of Quilt National’s longtime director, Hilary Fletcher, this award is granted to a first-time exhibitor who has entered Quilt National numerous times before gaining acceptance! Charlotte Ziebarth Reverberations
McCarthy Memorial Award is funded by the family of Cliff and Dominie McCarthy. Cliff was a long-time faculty member at Ohio  University’s School of Fine Arts whose support of the Dairy Barn and its programs lives on through his family’s generosity. The award honors an exceptional level of achievement. Dianne Firth Storm
Cathy Rasmussen Emerging Artist Memorial Award: (CREAM) is granted to a first time Quilt National exhibitor funded by Studio Art Quilt Associates. Arle Sklar-Weinstein Truth or Consequences
Lynn Goodwin Borgman Award for Surface Design: Eligibility for this award, sponsored by Lynn’s mother, requires that the face of the work be composed almost exclusively of fabric or fabric-like materials that the artist has altered through the use of various surface design techniques. Denise Linet Letters to Myself – Page 4
Quilt Surface Design Symposium Award of Excellence is sponsored by the Quilt Surface Design Symposium and awarded for exceptional achievement. Mary Ann Tipple The Conversation
Heartland Prize: Granted to a resident of Ohio or one of its neighboring states, this award is funded by the Nelsonville (Ohio) Quilt Company. Patricia Kennedy-Zafred Descent into Darkness: The Boys of  the Mine
Juror’s Award of Merit:  Each Quilt National juror has the opportunity to honor a particular artist with their choice of the work that most inspired them. Brienne Brown Moonset
John Lefelhocz Mona in the Era of Social Butterflies
Miriam Nathan-Roberts Salt and Pepper
People’s Choice Award is determined by votes submitted from visitor’s to Quilt National over the course of the exhibition. Brienne Brown Moonset

Powered by WordPress. Designed by Woo Themes